Monday, April 17, 2017

Introducing Google Team Drives


Team Drives are shared spaces within Google Drive where teams can store their files and guarantee that every member has the most up-to-date information, no matter the time or place. Are your student workers graduating? Have you worked with a professor on a project? Are you starting a project within your department? Give Team Drives a try to preserve any important documents.

Documents and folders are owned by the members of the team, not by an individual

The biggest difference between Team Drives and My Drive is that folders and documents are owned by the members of the team–not by an individual–so documents won't disappear when someone’s account goes away.

However, this benefit doesn't mean that you should jump straight to Team Drives. While My Drive allows you to apply different levels of access for individuals, in Team Drives the same access applies to all folders and subfolders owned by the members of the team, so it's not suitable when there are complex or changing access requirements.

Move My Drive files to Team Drives


  • Move any file you have access to from My Drive to Team Drives, provided the file’s owner has access to the Team Drive as well.
  • Email collaborators is not yet supported in Team Drives.
  • Google Drive app does not support Team Drives–yet.
  • Folder moves are not yet supported.

What makes Team Drives different from just sharing a Google Doc?

  • Every person added to a Team Drive gets instant access to that team’s documents.
  • Team Drives are designed to store the team’s work collectively, so if a document’s creator leaves the team that document doesn’t go with them.
  • Team members are prevented from accidentally removing or deleting files that others need.

Get Started with Team Drives

Step 1: Create a Team Drive

  1. Go to drive.google.com.
  2. On the left, click Team Drives.
  3. At the top left, click New.
  4. Enter a name for the Team Drive.
    Be sure to name the team drive something more descriptive than just Project
  5. Click Create.

Step 2: Add team members

  1. At the top, click Add members .
  2. Add names or email addresses and set access permissions.
    By default, members can upload, edit, and delete files, and invite other members.
  3. Click Send.

Team Drive access levels

  • Full access: By default, people can manage members, and upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
  • Edit access: Edit all files and upload new files. These people can’t move or delete files.
  • Comment access: Can only comment on all files.
  • View access: Can only view all files.

Where to find more information on Team Drives

Team Drives Help Center
Google Learning Center for Team Drives
Exploring Team Drives in G Suite Chautauqua 2017 session, Mon, May 22, 10:30am – 11:30am

Questions?

ITS Help Desk
helpdesk@macalester.edu

No comments :

Post a Comment